The Maastricht Debate 2019 – Who will be the next President of the European Commission?

The Maastricht Debate 2019 will take place on April 29 with the lead candidates of the European political parties for the role of European Commission President. It’s been five years since the last Maastricht Debate, where current European Commission President Juncker defended his vision for Europe and outlined what he would do if elected.


The debate will focus on the concerns of students and young people across Europe, many of whom will be voting for the first time.

Spitzenkandidaten participating in the 2019 edition of The Maastricht Debate:

• Bas Eickhout for the European Green Party

• Frans Timmermans for the Party of European Socialists

• Violeta Tomić for the Party of the European Left

• Guy Verhofstadt for the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe • Jan Zahradil for the Alliance of Conservatives and Reformists in Europe

The moderators for the debate are: Ryan Heath, political editor at POLITICO Rianne Letschert, rector at Maastricht University

The Maastricht Debate 2019 is being jointly organized by three partners from Maastricht: Working on Europe – Maastricht University, the City of Maastricht and the Province of Limburg – as well as the European Youth Forum and the European Journalism Centre. On this occasion, the organizers have invited POLITICO, the leading European publication for EU influencers, to ensure an extensive reach to the widest possible audience.



Comments are closed

Este sitio web utiliza cookies para que usted tenga la mejor experiencia de usuario. Si continúa navegando está dando su consentimiento para la aceptación de las mencionadas cookies y la aceptación de nuestra política de cookies, pinche el enlace para mayor información.plugin cookies

Aviso de cookies